Nerd and Proud

25 Jun

Tonight is the night of a college frat party and in keeping with the theme, guests are to dress up either as jocks, cheerleaders or nerds.

Normally I would shy away from parties like this because in High School, I had always felt that I could never pull off the cheerleader look and let’s face it, what’s the point of showing up as a nerd? Stereotypically, a nerd would either be stuck in the corner of the room, eyeing the crowd nervously, bopping to the music, waiting for someone, anyone to ask them to dance or they’d become the target of the inevitable party prank. Both scenarios don’t usually end well for the nerd in question. Now, not all nerds would be bound by the stereotype, but I never wanted to take the risk. After all, I wasn’t just a nerd, I was the fat nerd.

Four years since High School, forty pounds lighter and with a hell of a lot more self-esteem, I’m ready to take that risk.  I could go to the party tonight as a cheerleader. I’m pretty sure I have the right attitude for it, amongst other things. But if I did go as a cheerleader tonight, it would only show my need to fit in. I’m a grown woman with a little more self-respect than to fall into the trap of needing to fit in with the cool kids.

So tonight, I’m donning my thick black ‘Clark Kent’ glasses, as I like to call it, my Chuck Taylors and of course a pair of suspenders, ready to show the world that I’m a nerd, I’m proud of it and I’m going to have an amazing time tonight with my girls.

I’ll fill you in on how it goes tomorrow. Who knows? Maybe tonight, as a nerd, I’ll break out of the stereotype. This is my little social experiment. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

