Nerds: They’re Sexy And They Know It

26 Jun

Those of you who read yesterday’s post know that I went to a frat party.

Last night I found myself fitting the profile of a stereotypical nerd, standing in the corner with one of my friends, watching the crowd. Now, some of you may laugh at me for not breaking out of the stereotype but the difference about last night was that I didn’t choose to stand in the corner. In a way, I was forced to. The venue was packed, filled with hundreds of young men and women, and as with any party the music was up far too loud. It was difficult to talk and hear one another and moving around was a mission. At one stage it became so hot that the minute you stepped foot into the dance area, you’d sweat. Just like that.

So yes, I was forced into one corner and yes I watched the crowd as would a typical nerd but I also had a good time. When two other friends arrived, the party got a whole lot more interesting as we danced in our little corner and yelled into each others’ ears in attempt to converse. We were completely oblivious to what others’ thought of us and that was ultimately what was most important. Not to mention that I noticed a ‘jock’ look my way a couple of times, though nothing came of it and it probably didn’t mean anything. In that respect, I feel that the night was a complete success as not only did I enjoy myself but I broke out of my usual habit of avoiding parties like this and somehow managed to exude an air of self-confidence .

What I found to be most interesting though was the choice of costume most of the people chose to wear. It appears that being a nerd is now ‘in’. Almost every guy and girl came as nerds, complete with bright coloured suspenders, huge thick framed glasses and mismatched socks. They too seemed to enjoy themselves, more so than those who came as jocks or cheerleaders. I wasn’t at the party long enough to give a more detailed account but for the three hours that I was there, the nerds appeared to dominate the crowd  and the dance floor with their drunken antics.

All in all, it was a good party and it was nice to see the nerds taking over for a change. Looks like the times are changing. Nerds are sexy and they, as well as everyone else, are starting to realise it.

Leave a Reply

