Keyboard Warriors: How Dare They

12 Jul
Cyberbullying, would you do it?

Cyberbullying, would you do it? (Photo credit: kid-josh)

Over the last couple of days, I spent what I normally call “blogging time” on reading other blogs as well as setting up a Twitter account in attempt to expand my reach and spread the word about bullying. Many posts were enlightening and inspiring while others, which clearly showed the pain the author feels, made me feel sympathetic and quite sad. It’s always hard for me to read stories about cruelty and bullying because it affects me on a personal level and brings back memories I’d rather leave buried.
 
On a number of these blogs and twitter pages, I noticed comments that were utterly shocking, atrocious and appalling. Most of them were in response to posts illustrating the author’s pain. Here are some examples of what I came across:
 
1. “fat, disgusting, vile, obese, chunky, morbidly disgusting excuse of a human. You’re a waste of skin. I hope that triggered you a bunch” – This was in response to a  girl who claimed she was going to end her life.
 
2. “Why don’t you just kill yourself, nobody will miss you”
 
3. “Ew, you’re so ugly. Go kill yourself.”
 
4. “You’re pathetic and useless. Just go kill yourself already. You’re better off dead.”
 
There are simply no words to describe the people who write such things. These people are what some call “keyboard warriors” and are essentially ‘cyber bullies’,  who hide behind their computers and make these awful comments because there is no fear of consequences or retaliation.
 
I, personally, do not understand what anyone could stand to gain from making these sort of comments. What kind of person does this? How dare they say such things? Don’t they realise that their comments will only push someone, already feeling depressed, over the edge?
 
Apologies for the short post today. I just have absolutely no way of expressing how I feel in regards to this topic. There are just no words to describe my feelings. I wouldn’t wish this upon anyone and I sincerely hope the people these comments were targeting do not take them seriously.
 
How do you feel about people who write & say these sort of things to others? What can we do to put an end to this? Is it even possible to educate people on how wrong this is? Leave comments below.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Leave a Reply

