Anonymous Asked #1

12 Sep

Anonymous asked: Hi. I wasn’t comfortable asking anyone I know personally this because they’ll just say I’m being stupid so I thought I’d ask you and a couple of other bloggers I follow. I’m 15 and I don’t have many friends but there’s this one girl who I got along really well with and she’s a good friend to me but lately she’s been really bitchy to me. I don’t know what changed but she’s stopped talking to me and I’m sure she hates me now because she talks about me behind my back. I know she does this because I overheard her one day. She was like my best friend but now I don’t know what to do because what she’s doing really hurts me. What do you think I should do? Do I confront her or do I keep quiet coz she doesn’t know that I overheard her. I don’t understand why she hates me.

On occasion I receive messages asking me questions and most often I reply through e-mail but when I received this question I thought it best to post it on the blog as I’ve actually had two other questions similar to this.

First of, I don’t think this question is stupid at all. A lot of girls go through things like this in High School. I sure did and a couple of my friends did too. You’re definitely not alone!

Situations like this can sometimes be a little tricky. I wouldn’t really ‘confront’ her in an attacking manner as that could potentially cause some dire repercussions. The best thing to do, in my opinion, is to ask to speak with her privately. Talk to her calmly and tell her that you’ve noticed that things have changed in your friendship. Tell her how this change makes you feel, that you are not sure what happened but it feels as if the two of you are drifting apart. I wouldn’t mention that you feel she hates you and that you heard her talking about you behind your back. Try to keep things neutral to gauge her reaction and her response.

If she explains what changed then great. If she reacts in a mocking manner or tries to belittle you in anyway, then she isn’t really worth it, because at least you tried to salvage the friendship. Give her the benefit of the doubt though. Maybe she’s going through a rough time and acting out as a way to cope. Give it time and be patient. Things may change. If not, that’s okay too because there will be other friends. Try to focus on the things you enjoy doing for the time being to take your mind off this situation.

Thank you, Anonymous, for the question and I really hope everything works out for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

